Holiday with the family: San Juan, La Union

Definitely one of my greatest answered prayers last year 2013 was a vacation with my family. Being part of such a huge family, it has been really hard to gather everyone together and just have family time. And so when one of my Aunt called us out to have a vacation during the Christmas holiday, I was really the happiest kid in the block!

I kinda want to make this entry as a travel-slash-reflective post. So allow me to course you through first with the place we went.

What better place could we have a holiday other than the beach?? (Yes, even with the cold season. The Beach is the best place for me! :P)

What better place could we have a holiday other than the beach?? (Yes, even with the cold season. The Beach is the best place for me! :P)

 I was so giddy when I found out that we were actually visiting the surfing capital of the north–San Juan, La Union!! :)

Just look at those waves! (feature of itsmorefuninthephilippines.com)

Just look at those waves! (feature of itsmorefuninthephilippines.com)

Even if we had to drive for about nine hours including traffic time, the trip was really worth it because I got to have such fun road trip with the family all squashed up in our car! Haha!

It's kinda mind blowing how kids can play with the iPad the whole time! Just look at these kiddos having the time of their life.

It’s kinda mind blowing how kids can play with the iPad the whole time! Just look at these kiddos having the time of their life.

I have so many cousins I have lost count already! We weren't complete during this vacation though because so many of them are abroad or committed to prior schedules already. I had a great time though with this bunch! Even if we arrived at the beach at night already, this didn't stop us from running straight to the ocean and take groupies! :)

I have so many cousins I have lost count already! We weren’t complete during this vacation though because so many of them are abroad or committed to prior schedules already. I had a great time though with this bunch! Even if we arrived at the beach at night already, this didn’t stop us from running straight to the ocean and take groupies (see biggest photo)! :)

san juan launion3

We weren’t able to swim much at the beach though because of the huge waves and so what did we do? Take selfies and eat.Lol.

The last time at the beach was when he was just a baby and so he couldn't be more thrilled to actually play with the waves and sink in the sand! :)

The last time at the beach was when he was just a baby and so he couldn’t be more thrilled to actually play with the waves and sink in the sand! :)

san juan launion4

Having this little girl all the way from Cali was a sure treat! I was so proud of her because she conquered her fear of “sea monsters” during this vacation. :)

God is full of surprises! Just when I thought that this family vacation was already the best, He gave us another bonus by having the opportunity to visit one of the famous hotels in our country–Thunderbird Hotel! This place is gahhh-mazing (and extremely expensive)!!! I truly marvel at how God would just throw you off your feet and remind you that with Him, all things are possible!

san juan launion5

Doesn’t this picture Greece to you??

Amazing sunset and amazing moments for my family! (Just look at our stolen selfie shot! Haha!)

Amazing sunset and amazing moments for my family! (Just look at our stolen selfie shot! Haha!)

After spending this vacation plus a long holiday at home with my family I realized this two things: (1) Each one of us are different from each other and so we get to be a difficult bunch, (2) At the end of the day, they are the ones who will always be there for me.

I realized that spending time with the family is never easy. They can be so indifferent and yet so in to you. I can never describe with the perfect words how I feel whenever I’m with them. Many times it’s like an “ugh-moment” sometimes it’s a “yipee-moment”. But they are family. They are the people God has put me with. They are the people I am related by blood, by trait, by features. I could live my life saying I won’t care about them already but that would be the biggest lie. And I love it that God instituted this one different group of people stuck together and called it family. Because it would mean, we don’t have to be alone and we would always have a set of people we can always say, “they are where my home is.” <3

Say hi to the fam! :)

Say hi to the fam! :)

Leave a Reply

