Fitness Fight

January 25, 2014 | 6:15pm

This morning, I was informed that my afternoon schedule will be cancelled and so I decided I would take the time to run before dashing off to an overnight with a friend.

I took running “seriously” during the half of last year after so many months of nagging encouragement from my friends who was taking the whole fitness and healthy lifestyle thingy. And so when they finally got me around into buying my very own running shoes, I decided to give it a try because my friends were such good salespersons (!!!) and the shoes was ridiculously expensive! lol

When I said “seriously” it was actually used in my own terms, haha! I wasn’t that kind of serious in a way that I would run four to five times a day or would brave the road rain or shine. No I definitely wasn’t like that so I cannot really brag about my running thing.

But as I took the time to continue running even after long breaks or frustrating experiences with it, I actually began to enjoy and love it.

I love "chill" run! :) That was me running during a cold Christmas weather last December. :)

I love “chill” run! :) That was me running during a cold Christmas weather last December. :)

I have such adventurous friends. Most of my craziest activities are only made possible because they would always made me tag along. Haha! Here we are with another trail run. Yes, we had to take off our shoes because of this river we had to cross. (p.s. this was also my frist 11k run!! I almost died when that was how long we ran!)

I have such adventurous friends. Most of my craziest activities are only made possible because they would always made me tag along. Haha! Here we are with another trail run. Yes, we had to take off our shoes because of this river we had to cross. (p.s. this was also my frist 11k run!! I almost died when I found out that was how long we ran!)

Braving my first Fun Run last January 18! :) Successfully finished my 3K in sub20. Yay!

Braving my first Fun Run last January 18 for a Fund Raising event to the campus I was ministering! :) Successfully finished my 3K in sub20. Yay! Running with and for the people you love is so fulfilling!!

And so this afternoon, run I went. But as I was trying to focus to land on my mid-foot, pace my speed and just breathe, my mind kept going back to the wake of the mother of a student we just visited few minutes before I ran.

The mother was just 45 years old but died two days ago due to stroke. Few years ago, she had her first attack and has been incapacitated ever since. Talk about not being able to live life to the full because of health reasons.

Thinking about what happened to the mother of that student was almost an awakening with how I haven’t really been taking care of my body and the consequences I can face should I continue to neglect my health. All of these things pouring in my mind was like a cold water being splashed all over my face.

Huffing and puffing my way around the place I was running, I was feeling extremely out of breath and I knew I was having another asthma attack. With the 10 degree Celsius andĀ  the sweets I hoarded in for the week, this is my consequence.

I had to stop and cool down earlier than I intended to but what was more was that I knew I had to begin to take fitness seriously. More than for the reasons of being thinner and being able to wear any dress I’d like, from the bottom of my heart I knew God was convicting me to take care of myself more if I want to live out my life full of years for His glory.

I know that fighting for fitness will be a bloody battle. With all of the excuses my mind can come up with. But I know with the grace and strength that God supplies, I can indeed do all things! :)

Yes, Ma'am!

Yes, Ma’am!

4 thoughts on “Fitness Fight

Leave a Reply

