More than a summer rain.

As much as I am loving the heat of the summer season in my part of the world, lately I am finding myself looking out in the sunny sky and longing for even the tiniest bit of shower rain. I don’t know about you, but I think summer rains are the best! I find it so refreshing and so I couldn’t be more floored with joy when the rain poured out beautiful rain showers today! ♡

And while I was enjoying the cold gust of the wind and beautiful melody of the rain drops, I was reminded of how we too should always seek to be refreshed deep down in our souls.

One of the most comforting verses in the Bible for me is in Acts 3:19. It reads, “Repent then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord,” I truly find it interesting how different (many times twisted) our understanding of the Bible is when we live our lives in the standard of the world.

Maybe for many of us, when we begin to hear the words, “repent and turn to God”, almost immediately we will have a negative perspective about it. Maybe it connotes rules and sets of do’s and don’ts to follow or maybe loading yourself with guilt and try to swallow it all…for me, it has meant that I have to say goodbye to my “happy life” and punish myself with trying to do all those religious stuffs just so I can get a free pass from hell.

How mistaken I was (and maybe all of us.) Because repentance by the Bible’s definition, yes, means we have to turn away from our sins and to God but it never means that our lives will now be completely devoid of happiness. Repentance actually brings refreshment in our weary souls more than how the rain refreshes the dry and parched land. Wow!

When I began to understood this truth, I couldn’t be more liberated. How wonderful it is to finally break free from the stronghold of guilt and living in the shadow of secrecy. Being assured that when we confess our sins to God and acknowledge our mistakes before Him, we will be covered in forgiveness and not judgement and condemnation soothes my soul. What an amazing grace it truly is! That we can openly admit how messed up we are and be fully loved in return –no questions asked.

I love the following verse in that passage. It reads, “and that he may send the Christ, who has been appointed for you–even Jesus.” May we find the ultimate source of refreshment in our lives–Jesus,  as we come in repentance today. 

Blessed Tuesday! ☂

Pinterest - More than a summer rain

Leave a Reply

